Stay The Fuck Home And Make Pie Edition

My all time favourite thing is pie. It can be sweet pie. It can be savoury pie. As long as it is pie! My favourite sweet pie is blueberry. YUM YUM! After that, peach then strawberry. I even like a good strawberry rhubarb pie, but DO NOT try to give me a rhubarb or raisin pie. I detest raisins.

I grew up in a household where every Sunday night we would have pie as dessert. My mom would make her pies mostly with seasonal fruit. Every once in a while, she would make a killer lemon meringue. My Mom learned to make pie from my Grandma Betty (my Dad’s mom) and I then learned to make pie from both my Mom and also Grandma Betty. My Grandma Betty was the queen of baking.

All of the below recipes can be easily veganized.

Mom’s Pie Crust! It is the flakiest pie crust you will make. The trick is and you CANNOT skip this step, is you must add the vinegar! I’m not sure about variations for replacing shortening.

This recipe makes 2 pie crusts.

2 cups of flour
3/4 cups of vegetable shortening
pinch of salt
4 TBSP Cold water (the colder the better)
1 TSP White Vinegar. (this is the only vinegar that will work)

In a large bowl add the flour, shortening and salt.

In a small bowl add the cold water and vinegar together.

With a pastry cutter or two forks cut into the flour and shortening until it is crumbly.

Once it is crumbly add the water, a few tablespoons at a time. If you find your mixture too dry, add more water. Make sure you only add a bit at a time.

Don’t over mix, otherwise your crust will be tough.

Roll out as desired!

Fruit Pies

Blueberry Pie https://sallysbakingaddiction.com/best-blueberry-pie/
Apple Pie https://www.allrecipes.com/recipe/12682/apple-pie-by-grandma-ople/
Strawberry Pie https://joythebaker.com/2015/04/strawberry-lattice-pie/
Strawberry Rhubarb Pie
https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/best-strawberry-rhubarb-pie
Lemon Meringue Pie https://www.veganosity.com/vegan-lemon-meringue-pie-with-aquafaba/
Cherry Pie https://www.inspiredtaste.net/22872/easy-cherry-pie-recipe/
Pecan Pie https://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/vegan-pecan-pie-recipe/
Chocolate Cream Pie https://pinchofyum.com/vegan-chocolate-pie
Pumpkin Pie https://minimalistbaker.com/vegan-gluten-free-pumpkin-pie/
Vintage Pie recipes https://antiquealterego.com/2014/06/20/vintage-recipes-1950s-pies/

Savoury Pies

Pot Pie https://www.acouplecooks.com/savory-vegan-pot-pie-with-sage-crust/
Onion Pie
https://www.connoisseurusveg.com/vegan-cheese-onion-pie/
A list of ideas! https://happyhappyvegan.com/vegan-pie/

What is your favourite pie?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s